Kylee’s Broken Heart

When I was nine or ten I read the James Harriot books. Remember those? All Creatures Great and Small? All Things Bright and Beautiful? He was a fabulous story-teller. I knew that I wanted to grow up and be and writer and a vet just like him.

Fast forward thirty something years later and I’m only a writer. Not a vet.  Because (besides being seriously allergic to math)  I found out you can’t actually save all the animals–that no matter how much knowledge, training, or passion you have–as a vet you have to deal with loss. You have to watch people say goodbye to their pets. And that would  break my heart.

So, I told you all that to say that today I’m able to use my writing to help save someone’s pet, which is the best of both worlds for me.

Her name is Kylee. She’s an eight month old mastiff puppy born with a heart defect. Eight months is just not enough time for this sweet girl to spend on this earth with the people who love her. She needs a life-saving operation. I know we can’t save them all but this girl’s mom, Ro Lewis,  is part of the mastiff community that I belong to and she does so much for others, I wanted to find a way to help. So this is personal.

Here’s the part where my writing comes in. I’m giving a copy of Karma’s A Bitch (A Pet Psychic Detective) to everyone who contributes to Kylee’s chip-in page.

You can give a dollar. Five. Fifty. Whatever you can afford because every little bit helps! Then Ro will send me your email address so I can send you the book. Easy! You get to help save a life and get a free book. What could be better than that? And your dog will love to read it, too just ask my friend Morgan:

 

“I hope to make people realize how totally helpless animals are, how dependent on us, trusting as a child must that we will be kind and take care of their needs.” -James Harriot
  1. #1 by August McLaughlin on July 20, 2012 - 2:14 pm

    Thank you for loving animals and sharing this post! I hate the fact that we can’t save all animals, but love chances like these to help save one. Off to donate. THANK YOU again. Such a beautiful creature! (Was speaking of the dog, but you are, too! ;))

  2. #2 by Shannon Esposito on July 20, 2012 - 2:19 pm

    Oh, August, thank you thank you thank you!! *tears*

  3. #3 by Shannon Esposito on July 26, 2012 - 1:41 pm

    Thank you to those of you who didn’t comment but donated…you know who you are 🙂

    *big licks from Kylee*

  4. #4 by Tami on July 28, 2012 - 4:11 pm

    Thank you for your generosity to help Kylee. We’ve been following her progress since the first call for help. We would have given to help Kylee anyway, but this is such a wonderful added treat. Hope your offer gets lots of money for Kylee.

    • #5 by Shannon Esposito on July 29, 2012 - 12:44 am

      Kylee has such a wondeful support structure, glad you guys are there for her!
      Email me and let me know if you prefer a kindle or nook file & I’ll get the book to ya. soespo(at)gmail(dot)com

      Thanks again!

  5. #6 by Diane on February 17, 2013 - 4:07 am

    I just finished both of your pet psychic books this week on my Kindle (home sick and they were great reads to take my mind off my silly self). Is there an update on Kylee?? I LOVED Karma!

    • #7 by Shannon Esposito on February 17, 2013 - 6:33 pm

      Thank you, Diane, for taking the time to let me know you enjoyed the books, you made my day 🙂 As for Kylee, she’s still at Masthaven Sanctuary, where she can be monitored, but seems to be doing well.

Leave a comment